March 2017 TBR


Hey guys! I’d love to share my “to-be-read” list for March. I am hoping to read 5 books this month.7218138

                                                                             ***
The first book I’ll be reading is Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by brilliant Mark Twain.
This book was my absolute favorite growing up!
It will be my 3rd time reading it, so I am excited to see if I can pick up something new or catch something I may have missed previously. I will be reading this book with the Great Reads Book Club and I cannot wait to hear what they have to say about this American classic!

***

I will be returning to the world of criminal procedure in Dublin. Last year I have been introduced to Tana French and her Dublin Murder Squad Series. In the Woods is the first book in that series and it’s absolutely brilliant! What made In the Woods  the-likeness-pbsuch an amazing debut novel was Tana’s beautiful, descriptive prose, great plot and three-dimensional characters. Oh, and did I mention that the narrator is unreliable? It’s so great! The Likeness is the 2nd book in the series and I am beyond excited for my comeback to Ireland and its criminal world.

***

20559In the beginning of the year I made a promise to myself that 2017 will be the year of exploring new genres. Ubik, written by the master of science-fiction Phillip K. Dick, is that book. His works inspired Hollywood blockbusters such as Total Recall (1990),
The Adjustment Bureau (2011), Screamers (1995), Minority Report (2002), Next (2007), Paycheck (2003) and quintessential sci-fi classic Blade Runner (1982). For my first PKD read, I wanted to select a book that was not turned into a movie and Ubik was a perfect choice.

***

The Refugees by Pulitzer Prize winning author Viet Thanh Nguyen is the fourth book on my March TBR list. This book presents tragic, emotionally devastating the-refugees-thanhstories of Vietnamese refugees in California. This book seemed to be a perfect read in our contemporary political environment.

                                   ***

1105full-the-story-of-civilization,-vol-ii--the-life-of-greece-by-will-durant.-coverAnother one of my New Year’s resolutions was to read more
historical non-fiction. Here I want to step out of my comfort zone and read more works of ancient history instead of modern history. This is why I picked a giant tome The Life of Greece by Will Durant. Published in 1939, this work is still widely considered to be an authority text on the topic of Ancient Greece and Durant’s name is genuinely cherished in historical circles. I am excited to read this epic tome but I probably will not finish it in March.

by Ilya K

Leave a Reply

