Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Wish Could Have Had Sequels


Every Tuesday, The Broke and the Bookish blog posts a new Top Ten list and invites its users to participate.  This week’s Top Ten is “Top Ten Books I Wish Could Have Had Sequels.”  Sequels do have an unfortunate tendency,  however, of retroactively ruining the originals.  Many of the books listed below are really fine as they are, but in an ideal world, I would love for these stories to continue.

Watchmen

1.  Watchmen by Alan Moore

Arguably Alan Moore’s magnum opus, I would love to see him pen a sequel to Watchmen.  The Before Watchmen series, by the way, is a prequel not written by Moore and does not count.

2.  The Hellbound Heart by Clive Barker

Cliver Barker’s novella, The Hellbound Heart, is responsible for creating the Cenobites and starting the Hellraiser film franchise.  To my limited knowledge, Barker has never revisited the Cenobites.

3.  The Road by Cormac McCarthy

I wonder what happens to the song after this book’s bleak ending.

4.  Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak

I always thought it would be kinda interesting to see what happened to Max when he grows up.

Fight Club

5.  Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

The ending of Fight Club definitely leaves room for Palahniuk to write a sequel.

6.  Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick

Philip K. Dick’s most well-known work, which became the basis for the movie Blade Runner, is the one most deserving a sequel.

7.  IT by Stephen King

Outside of the Dark Tower series, IT is probably my favorite Stephen King book.  I’m not really sure what a sequel would bring to the story, but I would definitely read it.

Little, Big

8.  Little, Big by John Crowley

One of my favorite fantasy novels of all time, written in such astounding, beautiful language.  While I think writing a sequel to it may actually ruin the ending, I so do miss the Drinkwater family.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane

9.  The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

Filled with so much emotion, magic, and mystery, Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane is perhaps one of the better books I’ve read this year.  The only downside is that it is too short.

10.  Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling

Yes, I know Harry Potter is already a seven-book series, but let’s be honest with ourselves, shall we?  We all want more!  Perhaps one day Rowling will revisit the world of Harry Potter and give us more of what we really want.

– Zach

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Wish Could Have Had Sequels

Leave a Reply

