Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books at the Top of My Summer TBR List


This week’s Top Ten on The Broke and the Bookish blog is “Top Ten Favorite Books at the Top of My Summer To Be Read (TBR) List.”

1.  The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

I love Neil Gaiman, and have been eagerly awaiting The Ocean at the End of the Lane – his first novel for adults since 2005’s Anansi Boys – for quite some time now.  Luckily, the long wait is over, as it’s being released today!

2.  Joyland by Stephen King

It’s been awhile since I’ve read a Stephen King novel, and Joyland‘s amusement park setting and pulp fiction cover has intrigued me enough to include this in my summer TBR list.

3.  NOS4A2 by Joe Hill

And while I’m at it, why don’t I include Stephen King’s son’s new novel, NOS4A2, in my list as well?

4.  Divergent by Veronica Roth

I know I’m several years late to this popular YA series, but when one of my coworkers told me that they are filming the movie adaptation right outside his Chicago home, how could I not resist picking this title up?

5.  Runaways series by Brian K. Vaughan

Brian K. Vaughan – celebrated author of several Eisner Award-winning graphic novel series, including Y: The Last Man and Ex Machina – is the creator of this 11 volume series about a group of teenagers who runaway from their respective homes upon learning that their parents are part of a secret society of supervillains.  Having read the first three volumes in March, these are fun, engaging, and relatively light reads that will appeal to fans of both Marvel superhero comics and teen romance/drama.  I hope to finish the series over the summer, and I am especially looking forward to those volumes written by Joss Whedon, creator and writer of beloved TV shows Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, and Firefly.

6.  Umbrella by Will Self

This book – a  modernist, stream-of-conscious novel shortlisted for the 2012 Booker Prize that is about a psychiatrist treating an unusual case of encephalitis lethargica that has been affecting a patient since World War I – was given to me as a birthday gift.  With any luck, I will be able to read it before summer ends.

7.  The Vivisector by Patrick White

I discovered this book while updating our library’s collection of classic fiction titles and was struck by its graphic and shocking cover art, to which I had an immediate visceral reaction.  The story itself, however, has little to do with literal vivisection or eye surgery for that matter, but is instead about the life of an Australian painter who, according to the book’s description, “coldly dissects the weaknesses of any and all who enter his circle.”

8.  Gulp: Adventures on the Alimentary Canal by Mary Roach

Mary Roach – author of bestselling nonfiction titles, including Spook: Science Tackles the Afterlife and Bonk: The Curious Coupling of  Science and Sex – has long been on my TBR list. Hopefully, with her most recent release, Gulp: Adventures on the Alimentary Canal, I will finally have a chance to sit down and read her.

9.  Against the Day by Thomas Pynchon

Thomas Pynchon is one of my all time favorite authors, and Against the Day is the only book of his that I haven’t read.  Since his upcoming novel, Bleeding Edge, is set to be released this September, I have made it my goal to read this book before the summer is over.

10.  How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia by Mohsin Hamid

I’ve heard nothing but good things about this international bestselling author’s third book and I am eager to pick it up.

What books are on your summer TBR list?  Let me know!

Also, if you are a Fountaindale Public Library patron and are planning on reading this summer anyway, why not consider joining our 2013 Summer Reading Program?  It’s free and each page you read can bring you one step closer to winning some fabulous prizes!

– Zach

Leave a Reply

