Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like MORE/LESS Than I Did


This week’s Top Ten on The Broke and the Bookish blog is “Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like MORE/LESS Than I Did.”

1.  American Gods by Neil Gaiman

As a fan of Neverwhere and the Sandman series, I expected to fall in love with this Hugo and Nebula Award-winning fantasy novel.  Unfortunately, I could not help but feel somewhat underwhelmed and disappointed.  I will have to revisit it sometime to see if my opinion changes.

2.  Dracula by Bram Stoker

I had high hopes for this one, thinking it would be gripping, spooky, chilling, spine-tingling, etc., you know, everything you expect from a vampire story; but I found this epistolary novel to be more boring than bloodcurdling.

3.  Lady Be Good by Susan Elizabeth Phillips

I enjoyed this book much more than I thought I would, as I had never read a romance novel before this.

4.  The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz

Having heard so much about Díaz and this novel, I thought this book would be nothing short of astounding, but I ultimately found it to be just OK.

5.  To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Many people have told me this was their favorite book in high school, but I simply just couldn’t get into it.

6.  One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey

This was another title I didn’t enjoy as much as I thought I would.

7.  Sin in the Second City: Madams, Ministers, Playboys, and the Battle for America’s Soul by Karen Abbott

I typically don’t read nonfiction, but when I do, I often find myself enjoying it more than expected.  Sin in the Second City is one title I thought was fantastic.

8.  The Wild Things by Dave Eggers

I love Dave Eggers and Maurice Sendak, so I thought Eggers’s interpretation/novelization of Sendak’s classic Where the Wild Things Are would be amazing, but I couldn’t have been more disappointed.

9.  The Killer Inside Me by Jim Thompson

Three words: chilling, disturbing, unforgettable. I expected nothing from this book and was left speechless by this amazing psychological suspense novel.

10.  Wonder by R. J. Palacio

I fell in love with this heartwarming and deeply moving book that is perfect for just about anyone.  I am so glad I read this.

– Zach

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like MORE/LESS Than I Did

Leave a Reply

