What I’m Reading


I just finished “The Girl in the Gatehouse” by Julie Klassen. It is not what I typically read – you know serial killer tries to outsmart police while trying to kill the main character. For a change of pace (and for our Readers’ Advisory genre of the month book) I picked up a historical fiction/romance. I did not want your typical historical romance (heaving bosoms, Viking warriors, pirates (unless it is Johnny Depp) …) and in this case you can judge a book by its cover.

Go ahead – pick up any historical romance book. Notice the bare chest, long flowing hair (on both the man and the woman), the background of a ship or mountains, and you can guess how the book will be.

So you can imagine how excited I was to find this on the new book shelf! Notice that the cover was nothing like my two examples? When I read the back cover it intrigued me. A young woman is banished from her home by her father at age 19 with only her former governess for a companion. Sent to live on her beloved aunt’s estate, Mariah Aubrey is relegated to live in the gatehouse, and is unwelcome in her aunt’s home. Hmmm…. what could she have done? Is she (gasp) pregnant? Did she have an illicit romance with a married man? I wanted to know.

Her father gives her a small stipend which is quickly spent on medicine and food. How will she support herself? By writing novels that’s how! Now keep in mind – novel writing was considered an improper occupation for ladies. To top it off, novels written by a woman who was involved in a mysterious scandal were twice as bad.

Well, I won’t tell you more – you will have to read it for yourself. I really enjoyed this book, and I give it four stars! Come into the Fountaindale Public Library and check out this book for yourself!

– Lynnette

Leave a Reply

