Military Fiction


Some of our staff read some military fiction titles at the beginning of the summer. Here is what three of us read:

I just finished reading “Close Quarters” by Larry Heinemann. I think this book had a great descriptive story of the Vietnam War and really focused on what the soldiers experienced during their tour of duty. This book is definitely not for the faint of heart, there are very graphic descriptions of various battles and fire-fights that the main character (Phillip Dosier) experiences. There is also some explicative language as well as a few scenes describing some sexual encounters that the GIs had. I think this book was a good read, if you like military fiction. This was my first military fiction book I have read in my entire life and I think I picked a decent one. There were a few things that irked me about the book. The author writes in the accents that the characters had. Such as a down south gentlemen who served the troops breakfast in the mess hall, had a very thick southern accent which is very hard to translate to book form. So in some areas the reading was a little rough. There is also a lot of military jargon and slang, which I expected since this is military fiction. The great thing about this author though was that he included a little index in the back where you could look up the military jargon and read the definition of it. That way you weren’t lost when the characters would talk about the NCOs (Non-Commissioned Officer) or the “pig” (M60 machine gun). I feel that this book actually put you in the warzone and there were times when I got lost in the pages and thought about what I would do in certain situations that the soldiers faced. I feel this book is definitely worth a read if you are into military fiction and want to gain a little more in sight about what the soldiers endured and felt as they were thrown into a world of blood, mud, heat, body counts, ambushes, and firefights.

I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars. I would also recommend this book to any patron who likes military fiction. – JL

My choice to read “Next to Love” by Ellen Feldman was determined by the premise that this story showed the aftermath of WWII. The story outlines three families and how they cope with almost every combination of after war tragedies.
One family looses a son, brother, husband and never recovers, stuck in the endless loop of grieving.
Another family looses a son, brother, husband, father (all one man) and the family moves on…wife remarries, much to the shock of others.
The third family’s soldier survives and comes home, only to find he cannot function or adapt to returning home. His family finds a different man come home, different than the boy who left.
The characters were interesting but confusing. The constant movement from family to family was choppy and didn’t flow. I did like the choice of showcasing the three different possibilities of war tragedies.
Overall I would recommend this book to patrons who enjoy historical military fiction with romance. This book will be released on July 26, 2011.  – JT

I read “Paid in Blood” by Mel Odom. I chose this book after reading several others that I couldn’t really get into the story. It was a very interesting book based upon the NCIS agency (not the TV show) published by a Christian publisher. The book was very interesting and not too religious (characters were not preachy, didn’t quote Bible scriptures all the time). The characters in the book are all active military personnel, and used some military jargon, but not too much that it took away from the story. It was action filled, and it held my interest. I realized that I enjoy reading action-filled stories based in present day rather than historical military . This book is the first in the series, and I will probably read the rest in the series. I would compare this book to the Troubleshooter series by Suzanne Brockmann, except that Brockmann’s books have more romance in them. It would also compare to Terri Blackstock’s Newpoint 911 series (though the books are about the police and firemen of the town, and not the military).

I think that those who like Christian books with action in them might like these.  – Lynnette

What do you think? Who are your favorite authors?

3 thoughts on “Military Fiction

  1. If you like military fiction, may I suggest you take a look at the free sample of my Ebook “My Troubles With Time” on Amazon. It’s a science fiction yarn, but the sections on the siege of Paris during the Franco-Prussian War and the Japanese attack on the battleships at Pearl Harbor are based as closely as possible to the real events. The story concerns an inept physics professor, who goes back to December 1941 in his time machine, planning to become a national hero by sinking the Japanese fleet which attacked Pearl harbor.

  2. I have been looking for a site to inform readers of military fiction of my new book “Sabers and Spurs” available through Amazon’s Kindle bookstore. The novel is set during the Mexican-American War and features the experiences and events in the life of a young dragoon, Hardin Williams. While extensive research was done to ensure an accurate portrayal of the historical elements of the novel; it is more than just history. Williams’ service in Mexico is one of adventure, heroism, unforgettable characters, love lost and regained, against the backdrop of America’s first war on foreign soil and the campaigns in Mexico of the United States Army’s 2nd Dragoons. This is the first in the Missourian Series.

Leave a Reply

