J. D. Robb’s In Death Series


indulgence in deathIt is hard to imagine that J. D. Robb (Nora Roberts) is coming out with the 32nd book in the In Death series in February 2011 (Treachery In Death). I just finished Indulgence In Death, and I found myself enjoying the book, but thinking that the plot sounded familiar. Then it hit me – it sounded like the movie Hard Target, John Woo’s first Hollywood movie starring Jean-Claude Van Damme, Yancy Butler and Wilfred Brimley. Okay, so the book didn’t involve Cajuns and homeless veterans, and no money exchanged hands. However the murderers were bored rich men with nothing better to do than have a contest counting how many people they can kill in the most interesting ways.

Robb uses very descriptive language in the book, and vividly paints everything around the characters that you feel as if you are there with them. Indulgence In Death starts out in Ireland. I have visited Ireland, and I could picture the scenery as Eve describes the drive down a winding country lane. The flowers by the roadside, the farmhouse, and the park. I laughed out loud (I think that I scared some people) when Eve and Roarke and spending their first night in his Aunt’s home (I still smile when I think of it). Someone asked me what I was laughing at, and I read the passage (definitely G or PG rated) to the person. They sort of smiled, but I don’t think they thought it was as funny as I evidently did. Maybe they didn’t read J. D. Robb’s novels, or maybe I have a quirky sense of humor.

Anyway, I’m wondering how Robb is able to write such captivating books while publishing so often as both Robb and Roberts. I know that James Patterson has a new book every two weeks (or so it seems) but he co-authors with several different people so he is able to publish so many. I wonder if she just sits up late and writes them as one long book and then separates it into smaller books, or if she does have someone co-author them. Either way, I enjoy her (their?) writing style, and look forward to reading each and everyone of them.

-Lynnette

Leave a Reply

